With the increasing number of social media users, cyberbullying, and irrelevant content on Facebook is on the rise. And because of this, you might decide to block someone on Facebook without them knowing.
How, then, do you block someone on Facebook?
This article is a complete guide on how to block someone on Facebook without them knowing.
Without any further ado, let’s get started.
What is Blocking on Facebook?
Blocking someone is a restriction placed on an account that prevents such an account from carrying out certain actions.
It is best that you follow community guidelines and avoid social bullying and offensive comments to avoid your Facebook account being blocked.
Anyone can block an account on Facebook. It doesn’t matter how long you have been on Facebook; you can block a user.
If I Block Someone On Facebook, Will They Know?
When you block someone on Facebook, they will never know that you blocked them. This is because Facebook does not notify them that you have blocked their account.
However, they will not be able to see any of your Facebook posts, and also they can’t search for you on Facebook, and you will be invisible to them.
See Also: How to Recover a Hacked Facebook Account
Is Facebook Block Permanent?
No, it is not permanent. You can decide how long you want to block an account and choose when you want to unlock your friend.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Facebook?
Certain restrictions come with blocking someone from Facebook. They can no longer:
- Tag your Facebook account in a post
- Send an event or group invite to you
- View any posts on your timeline
- Message you on Facebook
- Add or send a friend request.
What this means is that blocking someone on Facebook automatically unfriends them. Therefore, you have to think through it before taking such action.
How to Block Someone on Facebook Without Them Knowing
You can block someone that you bullying or shaming you on Facebook easily and super fast. Note that when you block someone on Facebook, they don’t get notified of your action by Facebook.
So no worries! They won’t know that you have blocked them on Facebook.
How to Block Someone on Facebook Using the App
To block someone on Facebook using a smartphone, follow the steps below:
- Launch your Facebook app and log in to your account
- In the bottom right corner of your profile, click on the three horizontal bars tagged “Menu.”
- Proceed to click on the Gear icon (Settings) to get to “Settings & Privacy.”
- Scroll down and click on the “Blocking” option
- Tap on “Add to block list” to add the person you want to block to the list
- Click on “Block” to confirm that you want to block the selected friend
That is how to block someone on Facebook using their mobile device.
See Also: How to Delete Facebook Dating Profile
How to Block Someone on Facebook Using Desktop
- Visit www.facebook.com in your browser and log in to your account
- Tap on the arrow down icon right after the notification bell at the top right of your screen
- Click on “Settings & Privacy”
- Next, click on “Settings.”
- On the left menu, click on the “Blocking” option
- Under the block user section, enter the name of the user that you wish to block on Facebook.
By following the steps above, you will be able to block someone on Facebook without them knowing.
Block Someone on Facebook Without Them Knowing FAQs
If I block someone on Facebook, will they get a notification?
No. Facebook won’t notify any users that they have been blocked. However, they will be restricted from communicating with you or adding you to their friend list.
Will someone notice that I have blocked them on Facebook?
No. Facebook won’t send any notification to your ex-girlfriend, old boyfriend or horrible boss that you blocked their account. But if you regularly chat with the Facebook friend you have blocked or if they carefully monitor their account and friend list, they can easily tell you that you have blocked them.
What’s the best option: block or unfriend on Facebook?
“Unfriend” is usually seen as a less harsh option to block. After unfriending someone, you can access their profile and send them messages and vice versa. But you have to block this person if you don’t need them to access your profile, explore posts on your timeline and send messages to you.
When you block someone on Facebook, what do they see?
Once you block a Facebook user, they won’t be able to message you or view your profile. They will most likely see “This user is not available” when they try to chat with you or send you a message. But first, they may not know that you have blocked them.
Is there a way to know if I blocked them?
No. They may not easily discover that you have blocked them instantly, even if they get to know much later. However, Facebook won’t send a notification stating that “this user has blocked you.” But they can indirectly find out. For instance, your profile will be removed from their friend list, and they won’t be able to find your account even if they search for it.
Can you hide your Facebook profile from the search engine?
Select the “Who can look up your profile by name or contact info?” option. From the dropdown menu, tap “Friends” or “Friends of Friends” to restrict people who can access your profile. This will also limit your profile’s visibility from public platforms like Facebook or from Google and other search engine websites.
What is an easy way to search for someone that has blocked you on Facebook?
You can access a blocked profile via the URL. Here’s how:
- Copy the URL of the blocked profile.
- Sign out of your account on Facebook.
- Select the URL bar at the upper part of the screen. Delete any web address that is in the field.
- Paste the URL of the blocked account in the address bar.
- Hit “Enter” to access the Facebook profile.
How often can you block and unblock anyone on Facebook?
While there is no limit to how often you can unblock or unblock a Facebook account, you have to wait 2 days after unblocking to block someone again.
After blocking someone, can they access your profile photo?
No. The Facebook account that has been blocked won’t be able to access your profile photo, send you messages or check out your last seen. They will not be notified of their block status. However, they can indirectly tell that you have blocked them.
Can you check who has viewed your Facebook profile?
No. There is no Facebook feature that allows you to monitor who has seen your profile. Even 3rd-party tools and software don’t offer this feature. Users should endeavor to report any app that promises this functionality.
Can you block someone and still remain friends?
No. Blocking someone will remove the person from your friend list. However, you can restrict that person from accessing your profile through the “restrict” feature. It is similar to blocking but the only difference is that they will remain on your friend list.
Can I restrict someone from accessing my posts without unfriending?
- Yes. You can do it manually. Search for the user and select their name in a post or comment they have dropped.
- Select the “friend” option below the person’s name.
- Select “Edit Friend Lists”.
- Navigate down to the list and select “Restricted” to select this option.
What are the signs that you have been blocked on Facebook Messenger?
If you wish to determine whether you have been blocked on Facebook Messenger, send a message to the person you suspect has blocked you.
If your message hasn’t been delivered, even if the recipient is most recently online, then you have been blocked.
If your message is undelivered, you will see an empty circle without a checkmark beside it.
If Facebook blocks your account, how long does it last?
It depends on the magnitude of the breach and the history of your activities on Facebook. While temporary blocks can only last for a few hours, some have a span of 30 days. There is no way to determine the span of your block.
What psychological principles drive blocking someone?
Blocking someone on social media is a form of social rejection that can negatively affect the mental health of the user who is rejected. Most times, the blocker aims to ruin or scold the blocker in a psychological way.
One of the ways to stay healthy on social media is to ensure that you are consuming relevant information. If you notice someone using offensive and abusive words for you, you can block them.
With this guide, you should already know how to block someone on Facebook without them knowing.
- How To Hide Mutual Friends List On Facebook
- How To Recover Deleted Posts On Facebook
- Does Facebook Listen to You Through Your Phone?